Welcome to Sunshine Sugar - 100% Australian Owned

The sugar industry has been a part of life in northern New South Wales for more than one hundred years. The industry is a significant contributor to the economy of the area and provides the community with employment opportunities, growth and prosperity.


In 1978 the NSW Sugar Milling Co-operative Ltd was formed when cane growers purchased the three NSW sugar mills from CSR. The mills are located at Condong on the Tweed River, Broadwater on the Richmond River, and Harwood on the Clarence River.


In 1989 NSW Sugar Milling Co-operative Limited formed a partnership with the Manildra Group to form the joint venture partnership Manildra Harwood Sugars, and built the Harwood refinery which is located alongside the Harwood Mill..


In June 2015 the growers of NSW Sugar Milling Co-operative Ltd strongly supported a proposal to merge the refining and milling operation under the Sunshine Sugar partnership. The new arrangements saw Manildra buying a 50% ownership in the milling operations from NSW growers and the Sunshine Sugar partnership operating the milling and refining operations as one business on a 50/50 ownership basis.


The merged entity commenced operations on 1 July 2015. Sunshine Sugar is the only Australian owned sustainably certified sugar manufacturer, something we are very proud of.

Sunshine Sugar is proudly 100% Australian owned and Certified Sustainable




Nomination for Directors

 Nominations are invited for election as Directors at the 2015 Annual General Meeting of the Co-operative.

Nominations are called for one Director at each of the Broadwater, Condong and Harwood Mill areas.

Members of the Co-operative are eligible for nomination for election as a Director.

Nominations must be received by the Company Secretary of the New South Wales Sugar Milling Co-operative Ltd,
Suite 1 Level 1 Cnr River and Martin Streets Ballina 2478 by 1:00pm on Friday, 11 September 2015.

In the event that nominations exceed vacancies in any mill area, a postal ballot will be carried out amongst members
holding Production Area Entitlements relating to that mill area.

2015 Director Nomination Form